Mayor John Seehuus began his tenure as mayor after the position was vacated by former Mayor Carolyn Eslick on Oct. 31, 2017. He was appointed to the position by the Sultan City Council on Thursday, Dec. 21, 2017. Seehuus will serve as mayor throughout the remainder of Eslick’s term, which extends through Dec. 31, 2019.

Mayor Seehuus was elected to the Sultan City Council in 2013 and 2017, serving as mayor pro tem in 2015 and 2017. He previously held office as a councilmember from 2004 – 2007, with service as mayor pro tem in 2006 and 2007. Other civil engagement includes service on the Sultan Planning Commission from to 2001 until 2003, including service as the commission chair during his final year.

Mayor Seehuus is a founding member of the Sultan Education Foundation (SEF), and continues to serve as the vice president of the board. The Sultan Education Foundation is a registered 501C3 nonprofit founded in 1993 that raises money to support Sultan School District students. Funding raised by the SEF is awarded in the form of scholarships and classroom grants to improve the academic experience for local students. Since 1993, the foundation has raised and awarded over $300,000, and boasts a secure investment profile.

Seehuus is one of the founding members and continues to serve as the vice chair of the U.S. 2 Safety Coalition, having held a seat on the board of directors since 1997. He has made regular trips to Olympia on behalf of the Sky Valley, advocating for safety improvements on U.S. 2 and S.R. 522.

The mayor-council form consists of an elected mayor (elected at-large), who serves as the City’s chief administrative officer, and a council (elected at-large), which serves as the municipality’s legislative body. The council has the authority to formulate and adopt city policies and the mayor is responsible for carrying them out. The mayor attends and presides over council meetings but does not vote, except in the case of a tie.

The mayor may veto ordinances, but the mayor’s veto can be overridden by a majority plus one of the entire council membership.

The mayor appoints members of the City’s Planning Board, the Sultan Community Alliance Board and Civil Service Commission.

Ken Walker was appointed by former Mayor Carolyn Eslick as the City Administrator to assist with administrative and policy-related duties. By doing so, Sultan gains the benefit of professional management, allowing the mayor to focus greater attention on policy development and political leadership roles.